Kristina Johnson

Kristina Johnson, Director

Kristina M. Johnson has been a Director of AES since January 2011, and currently serves on the Compensation Committee and Innovation and Technology Committee of the Board. Dr. Johnson previously served on the board from April 2004 to April 2009.

Dr. Johnson currently is the Chancellor for the State of New York University System. Prior to her appointment as Chancellor, Dr. Johnson served as the CEO of Enduring Hydro LLC, a company that invests in, develops, consulting services on hydro electric power and other clean energy projects, since April 2011 and is the former Undersecretary for Energy at the U.S. Department of Energy (from May 2009 to November 2010). Prior to government service, Dr. Johnson was Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at the Johns Hopkins University from September 2007 to April 2009. Previously, she served as the Chief Academic and Administrative Officer and Chief Budget Officer of the Edmund T. Pratt, Jr., School of Engineering at Duke University(“Duke”), joining Duke in July 1999. Prior to joining Duke, Dr. Johnson served on the faculty of the University of Colorado Boulder from 1985 to 1999 as a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and a co-founder and director (from 1993 to 1997) of the National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center for Optoelectronic Computing Systems Center.

Dr. Johnson received her B.S. with distinction, M.S. and Ph.D. from Stanford University in Electrical Engineering. She is an expert in liquid crystal electro-optics and has over 118 U.S. and International patents or patents pending in this field. Dr. Johnson has received numerous recognitions for contributions to her field, including the John Fritz Medal, considered the highest award given in the engineering profession, and was inducted into the National Inventor’s Hall of Fame (June 2015).